Mok Wei Wei Works by W Architects

Mok Wei Wei, Justin Zhuang, Jiat-Hwee Chang, Leon van Schaik

Description

During a career spanning over three decades, award-winning architect Mok Wei Wei has helped create the Singapore we see today. This overview of his large- and small-scale projects completed with his practice, W Architects, includes apartment complexes, museums, houses, and community centers, each revealing the architect’s inspirations and his ingenious solutions to the challenges of building in a tropical city.

Three themed chapters—“Refract,” “Respond,” and “Reflect”—move through Mok Wei Wei’s career, from the early 1980s to the present, illustrating his unique approach to designing buildings for a dense urban environment in the context of a diverse multicultural society facing the challenges of climate, heritage preservation, globalism, and national identity. A must-have for fans of Mok Wei Wei and W Architects, Mok Wei Wei is also essential reading for architects building in tropical cities worldwide.

Contributors

Mok Wei Wei

Author

Mok Wei Wei is managing director of W Architects and a recipient of the President’s Design Award, Singapore’s highest honor for design. He has served on the Venice Art Biennale Advisory Panel at the Ministry of Information, Communications, and the Arts.

Justin Zhuang

Edited By

Justin Zhuang is a Singaporean writer and researcher with an interest in design, architecture, culture, and history.

Jiat-Hwee Chang

Other

Jiat-Hwee Chang is a Singaporean writer and researcher.

Leon van Schaik

Other

Leon van Schaik is an emeritus professor of architecture at RMIT, Melbourne, Australia.